Google announced today that it will no longer automatically sync photos between its Drive and Photos services. This means that a particular photo deleted in Photos will not be deleted from your Drive account in case they happen to be the same one. "We've heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we're making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos". Instead, the Google Photos folder will be its own thing.
See, since Google Drive is integrated into the Files app on Chromebooks, with automatic syncing turned on, you could access and edit/upload Google Photos images directly from the Google Photos folder in the Files app. So any changes you make to one item will not affect the other.
Google also announced that it would be bringing a new feature to Google Photos called "Upload from Drive", which allows users to manually copy images from their Drive account to the Photos app. According to the page, manually duplicating the pictures across Google Drive to Google Photos will take up storage space over both accounts, but using the company's Backup and Sync service will not.
Google Drive is a storage service that lets you save various files to the cloud and then access them from your smartphone, tablet, or computer. The tech giant's other product, Backup and Sync, will also remain available on Windows and Macs to upload your digital media to either product. While there's still a Photos folder in Drive, the new ones that you upload to Photoswill not be added there.
Confused? Like we said, Google is simplifying things a little bit, but it's still certainly not streamlined.
Any photos or videos that were uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. Is this better or worse than before?