Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

OU’s Kyler Murray named The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year

Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray named Associated Press Player of the Year

Tagovailoa (117 points) received 13 first-place votes and Haskins (55 points) was listed first on four ballots.

Tagovailoa is Alabama's second Walter Camp Award victor, joining running back Derrick Henry in 2015.

Murray also is a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback and Maxwell Award as the best player.

Murray and Tagovailoa will now head to New York City as Heisman trophy finalists, with the victor more uncertain than usual.

Murray will look to become OU's seventh Heisman victor and second straight (Mayfield). Those awards and others will be presented Thursday night at ESPN's college football awards show in Atlanta. He joins Henry (2015) and McCarron (2013) as the only Crimson Tide players to win the Maxwell Award.

- Alabama's Jerry Jeudy won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top wide receiver.

- Texas A&M punter Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award. And only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

One of the most-anticipated awards year-in and year-out is the Davey O'Brien award. Murray, who batted.296 with 10 home runs and 13 doubles in 50 games as the Sooners' center fielder, signed for almost $5 million, with the A's agreeing to let him return to school and play football this season.

Murray won over Tagovailoa and Minshew for the O'Brien. He went on to become one of three 4,000-yard passers in the nation and threw for 40 touchdowns. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. His 4,527 yards of total offense are more than 68 of the country's other 129 teams, including six squads that are ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said.

Altre Notizie