Soon, you’ll have 10 minutes to ‘unsend’ a Facebook message

Facebook Messenger Unsend feature gives you 10 minutes to take it back

Facebook will give you 10 minutes to unsend that embarrassing message

Back in April, with Facebook still reeling from the Cambridge Analytica scandal, the company came under fire after it was discovered to be unsending messages sent from company executives, including Mark Zuckerberg, to other users.

Facebook announced the upcoming feature in the "coming soon" section of its latest rundown detailing what's new in the version of Facebook Messenger on the App Store.

Whether it's reaching out to an ex in a moment of weakness or making a poor emoji choice, many of us have hit "send" on a message only to regret it seconds later.

Facebook Messenger will soon introduce a feature that lets you delete a message up to 10 minutes after it's already been sent.

This length of time is relatively short in comparison to other messaging platforms, including the one day time limit for Facebook-owned Instagram and one hour for Whatsapp - also owned by the social media giant.

Hopefully this leads to a serious decrease in the amount of people waking up with the fear as a result of a stupid message sent the night before.

Ten minutes seems like a reasonable time period.

However, it should be noted that Facebook's unsend feature for both Messenger and WhatsApp work differently from Gmail's.

Altre Notizie