Pak Court Stays Recount In Lahore Seat Narrowly Won By Imran Khan

Pakistan: Supreme Court stays recount of votes in Lahore seat won by Imran Khan

Pak Court Stays Recount In Lahore Seat Narrowly Won By Imran Khan

The PTI had taken the decisive lead by winning 116 seats against former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and former President Asif Zardari s Pakistan Peoples' Party (PPP) which won 64 and 43 seats, respectively.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique had petitioned for a recount in the NA-131 Lahore-9 constituency, from where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan won by 680 votes.

When the rejected votes were recounted, the result slightly changed, but Khan still remained the victor by a few hundred votes.

The recounting of votes is underway in the National Assembly constituency, NA-131 (Lahore-VII), on the orders of Lahore High Court.

The Supreme Court bench said that the result of the constituency has been compiled and it could not be deprived of representation in Parliament.

Rafique, after losing the recount, appealed the election commission to recount all votes cast in the constituency.

Another spanner was thrown in the works this week when the election commission notified the final results of the July 25 general election but withheld results in nine national and 17 provincial assembly seats for various reasons, stirring a new controversy before the formation of the government.

Soon after the top court's verdict, Khan's lawyer Babar Awan wrote to the Election Commission, requesting it to issue the notification of Khan's victory in two constituencies in Lahore and Islamabad, Dawn reported.

In his application, Mr Awan argued that since the apex court had nullified the high court's judgement, the ECP should issue the victory notification of Khan. He further stated that the recount of rejected votes and five polling stations reduced 117 votes from Imran's tally.

Altre Notizie