Larry Nassar Victims to Receive Arthur Ashe Courage Award at 2018 ESPYs


CREDIT Twitter @espn

ESPN is honoring the the hundreds of sexual assault survivors who spoke out against former USA Gymnastic and Michigan State University team doctor Larry Nassar at the 2018 ESPY Awards.

In a statement, vice president and editor of ESPN magazine Alison Overholt said, "We are honored to recognize the courage of these women at the 2018 ESPYs".

The award will be handed out during the ESPYs on July 18.

Almost 200 girls and women accused Nassar of assaulting them and gave victim impact statements during Nassar's three sentencing hearings.

Aly and numerous other survivors spoke at Larry's sentencing hearings earlier this year which led to the disgraced doctor being sentenced to up to 175 years in prison on multiple counts of sexual assault.

Among the accusers were high-profile U.S. Olympic gymnasts Aly Raisman, McKayla Maroney, Gabby Douglas, Simone Biles and Jordyn Wieber.

"They have shown us all what it truly means to speak truth to power, and through their bravery, they are making change for future generations".

The scandal led to leadership changes at both USA Gymnastics and Michigan State. "By honoring this group who spoke out, we aim to honor all of those who are survivors of abuse".

Previous recipients of the Arthur Ashe Courage Award have included Muhammad Ali, Billie Jean King, Pat Tillman, Tommie Smith and John Carlos, Nelson Mandela, Pat Summitt, Caitlyn Jenner, Zaevion Dobson and others.

Altre Notizie