Delhi Metro Pink Line: Majlis Park-South Campus stretch set to open

Delhi Metro Pink Line: Majlis Park-South Campus stretch set to open

Delhi Metro Pink Line: Majlis Park-South Campus stretch set to open

The new line also boasts travelators at Rajouri Garden and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus metro stations to facilitate easier interchange between the lines. Out of the 12 stations, eight are elevated and rest are underground.

The metro line covers about 22 km from Majlis Park to Durgabai Deshmukh.

Ahead of the formal inauguration of the Pink Line on Wednesday by Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri, the Delhi Metro on Monday gave a tour to the media on the 21.56-km stretch of the Majlis Park-Deshbandhu South Campus Metro station.

Majlis Park-South campus section a big boon for city students.

The 21.56-km Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus stretch will connect North and South Campuses of Delhi University with a travel time of about 40 minutes, the official said.

"The two DU campuses are now connected to each other on the Delhi Metro network for the first time. It will help in cutting travel time for commuters and will hugely benefit students, who took the road till now", added the official.

Azadpur Station (Yellow line) is one of the three interchange stations on the Pink Line stretch that opens tomorrow, the other being, Netaji Subhash Place (Red Line) and Rajouri Garden (Blue Line). Line 7) of Delhi Metro's Phase 3. The stations also have platform-screen doors.

The metro on the pink line uses Communication Based Train Control (CBTC) signaling technology which is already operative on the Magenta line, from Botanical to Kalkaji Mandir. "Between Shakurpur and Majlis Park stations it will ply with a frequency of 5 minutes and 12 seconds during peak time and 6 minutes during off-peak hours", according to the DMRC. A total of 19 trains will be pressed into service for the entire section, the DMRC said. The interchange to Airport Line metro at Dhaula Kuan will have a foot over bridge connecting the two stations and is set to be operational by June, added the official.

The new Netaji Subhash Place station, which is semi-underground, has been tastefully decorated with artworks on walls. "The metro train on this stretch will also cross Dhaula Kuan at a height of 23.6 m (as high as a seven-storey building) to reach South Campus from Majlis Park", revealed the DMRC. The 12 stations on this line are: Majlis Park, Shalimar Bagh, Azadpur, Netaji Subhash Place, Punjabi Bagh West, Shakurpur, ESI Hospital, Rajouri Garden, Naraina Vihar, Mayapuri, Delhi Cantt and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus.

Altre Notizie