Munster pack lift Reds to third win on the spin

Outgoing Rassie Erasmus will leave Munster in December

Outgoing Rassie Erasmus will leave Munster in December

Munster Rugby's Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus makes one change for this afternoon's Guinness PRO14 clash away to Ospreys at Liberty Stadium, kick-off 3.15pm.

First-half tries from Jean Kleyn and Darren Sweetnam was enough for Munster as they battled past a gutsy Ospreys to stay top of Conference A of the new-look PRO14.

James Hook scythed through Munster's defence to open the try-scoring, but the visitors dominated the rest of the opening period.

Wales global Dan Lydiate was a late inclusion for his first appearance since injury knee ligaments in November a year ago.

Irish worldwide John Ryan will make his 100 appearance for Munster, if he takes to the field this afternoon, having made his debut against Cardiff Blues in September 2011. Bleyendaal converted the first of those efforts to send his team into the break 15-7 to the good.

Bleyendaal finally found the target with his third penalty shot from in front of the posts on 10 minutes after Ospreys had collapsed a scrum up against a big Munster pack. Bleyendaal failed with the conversion attempt from wide out.

Sam Davies' three penalties brought the Ospreys back to within two points, but Munster were ultimately too strong for their hosts on what was a disappointing afternoon for the Swansea based region. Half-time; 7-15. 44 mins: S Davies pen, 10-15; 51 mins: T Bleyendaal pen, 10-18; 57 mins: S Davies pen, 13-18; 64 mins: S Davies pen, 16-18; 77 mins: T Bleyendaal pen, 16-21. Munster kept the ball in the forwards and it paid off. Bleyendaal's third penalty sealed the win and although there was no bonus point, this success would have pleased Erasmus no end.

Ospreys: Evans (Biggar 78); Giles, Allen ( Fonotia 54), Hook, Hassler; S Davies, Habberfield; James (Smith 40), Parry (Baldwin 40), Fia (Jones 75), B Davies, Ashley (Beard 52), Lydiate (Mercer 52), Tipuric (capt), Baker.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Duncan Williams; Liam O'Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Sean O'Connor, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue.

Altre Notizie